Prophets (Former & Later Prophets)

The Hebrew canon divides the Scriptures in a different way from the LXX whose order most modern English Bibles follow.

The three main divisions are: Torah, Nebi'im (Prophets) and Kethubim (Writings). The prophets include two groups of books.

The Later Prophets include Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Twelve ("Minor Prophets").

The Former Prophets include Joshua, Judges, Samuel, and Kings (some of the "Historical Books").

This page is part of the Hypertext Bible Commentary - Amos,

© Tim Bulkeley, 1996-2005, Tim Bulkeley. All rights reserved.