Minor Prophets

The Bible book known as the Book of the Twelve in the Hebrew Bible becomes twelve separate books in the LXX and in Christian Bibles. These shorter books follow the three longer prophetic books (Isaiah, Jeremiah and Ezekiel) and together are called the "Later Prophets". (In the LXX and many Christian Bibles they follow Daniel, however Daniel is in the writings not the prophets in the Hebrew Bible.)

The books are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah & Malachi. Of these Jonah stands out as a story, while the others contain mainly prophetic speeches.

This page is part of the Hypertext Bible Commentary - Amos,

© Tim Bulkeley, 1996-2005, Tim Bulkeley. All rights reserved.