The first five books of the Bible viewed as a unit, see Torah. Although this five book unit was already traditional before the time of Jesus some modern scholars have suggested that ancient Israel might have worked with a four or six book unit originally (i.e. leaving out Deuteronomy or including Joshua).

This page is part of the Hypertext Bible Commentary - Amos,

© Tim Bulkeley, 1996-2005, Tim Bulkeley. All rights reserved.